#LEAPISPARTOFMYSTORY WEEK 6: ANIFOWOSE OPEYEMI

Ebenezer 

ANIFOWOSE OPEYEMI

I recently completed my Post-graduate degree in Nutrition and Public Health management at Sheffield Hallam University in the United Kingdom and was awarded the Sheffield Business School Leadership Award for my numerous contributions in leadership development.

My achievement might have been unattainable if I hadn’t attended an Employability Programme (EMP) organized by LEAP. As a youth corp member deployed to Ebonyi State in 2011, I attended the Accenture sponsored EMP in Enugu State. I had just heard about LEAP with five of my friends and we beat the competition to attend the weeklong training. LEAP trainers including Oje Ivagba did a wonderful job facilitating the sessions. These sessions became instrumental to building my confidence and effectiveness in the days that followed.

Three months after the Employability training, my friends and I conducted a free “CV writing and Employability Seminar” for other corps members, drawing from the knowledge we had acquired.

Within a few months, after NYSC, I successfully got three separate job interviews and eventually secured my first job as a Creative Assistant in Ideas House.

One of the lessons taught at the EMP encouraged me to volunteer my services whenever possible. So in April 2013 I volunteered with LEAP as a Graphics Designer and helped to re-design one of the training manuals that was to be used for a youth training in Lagos that same month.

Although I have only started settling into my promising career as a Nutritionist, the learning experience with LEAP Africa has empowered me to effectively sell and distinguish myself at different points. For Instance, I was shortlisted for the Venture in Enterprise Management programme sponsored by Junior Achievement Nigeria at the Lagos Business School; being a recipient of the Sheffield Business School Leadership Award earned me a place in the highly coveted Common Purpose Frontrunner leadership course.

I am presently in contact with top organizations in my field where I dream to work in and I am confident I will achieve my goals, thanks to LEAP Africa for a great start.

Categories:

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

