#LEAPISPARTOFMYSTORY WEEK 20: Omotoso Beatrice

Mrs Omotosho LIPOMS

Omotoso Beatrice; Teacher, State Senior High School G.R.A. Ikeja Lagos.

LEAP has been in my school for about six years, teaching and developing young Nigerian students with the necessary behavioral and intellectual tools they need to succeed; made possible by a number of teachers who have keyed into their vision.

I had always been inspired by the organization’s contributions to the society, especially in public secondary schools around Lagos State. And surely, it was clear from the onset that I was up for a transformative experience, not only as a teacher but also as a woman and a mother – an individual responsible for managing, instructing and directing a new generation of leaders in the Nigerian society.

I joined LEAP in 2013 through my connection with Mrs Sidi Ighodaro, who was my boss at the time. There was a computer training organised by LEAP in State Senior High School, Ikeja in partnership with DELL and Camara Education. Keith Magee was the facilitator and I was one of the beneficiaries. Before this programme, I had little knowledge of how to operate a computer but it was at this training I was built with the capacity to advance my qualifications. Indeed the training transformed by life completely.

Over the years, I have grown beyond the basic knowledge of computers. I am now well disposed towards these technological devices and can readily execute it’s technical functionalities to solve everyday problems at work. Even now, I haven’t stopped learning. The fun part of this is my ability to utilize these computers to teach and deliver LEAP’s curriculum effortlessly. As a teacher I have succeeded in training students on how to operate and accomplish simply tasks that would have other-wise been difficult and it has been a wonderful experience.

LEAP Africa adds value to every stratum of society and I am pleased to be part of its history. I can boldly say LEAP has contributed immensely to my life. This is my story.

I am Mrs Omotoso Beatrice; a teacher in State Senior High School G.R.A. Ikeja Lagos State. I joined LEAP in 2013 shortly after I participated in the ICT training for teachers in secondary schools.

Have you got an interesting story to tell? Email us today – info@leapafrica.org

Categories:

Leave a Reply

