#LEAPISPARTOFMYSTORY WEEK 23: Oluwatoyosi Feyisitan

LEAP is part of my story

Oluwatoyosi Feyisitan, Team lead, Alliance for Youth Development (AYD) 

I am Oluwatoyosi Feyisitan, change agent, team lead of Alliance for Youth Development (AYD) and an assurance staff of PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC).

I heard about LEAP’s Youth Leadership Programme (YLP) in 2007 while I was the president of a youth club. I applied, actively participated in the training, became an alumna, volunteered on Leadership, Ethics and Civics (LEC) project for 2 years and I have been a great influence to young people ever since.

My participation at the training gave me a platform to strive for success. I was particularly inspired and motivated to start AYD as a result of my volunteering experience at the LEC. LEAP funded my change project which involved training secondary school students on leadership and life skills. The experience served as a vantage point for me to develop and initiate the ideas that are transforming the lives of over 100 Government secondary school students in Oyo state; the work is still ongoing.

The basic things learned at the training made a remarkable difference in me especially the session on time management and goal setting.

LEAP Africa demonstrated the importance of time management on the first day of the training as our trainer, Oje Ivagba only allowed those who registered and were seated at the start time. I arrived five minutes to the commencement of the training and those who arrived earlier without doing the needful missed out on the opportunity to participate.

Another memorable experience occurred while playing the  “tower game”. We were given items to build a tower, but the facilitator of that session, Asuquo Asuquo, picked one of the key items my team and I needed to complete the structure and asked us to continue building. Of course we had to make do with the available items we had. But we were sceptical and a bit concerned about our missing piece, thinking the highest tower would win the game, not knowing that each team would have to blow out the towers they presented. In the end, the tower that could withstand the force of the wind because it had a solid foundation and was not too high, won the game – -The game taught me a valuable lesson. It illustrated the benefits of planning well and improvising. Truth is, we may not always have all the materials we need to achieve certain desires, but we must learn to plan well and make do with the available resources at our disposal.

One of the fundamental things we were encouraged to do before the end of the programme was to write our short-term and long-term goals and objectives. Fortunately for me, I have achieved all that I wrote at the time.

I’m proud to say, #LEAPISPARTOFMYSTORY

Have you got an interesting story to tell? Email us today – info@leapafrica.org

Categories:

Leave a Reply

