#LEAPISPARTOFMYSTORY WEEK 27: Terah Melford

Giftterah2

Terah Melford, Student Entrepreneur 

I am Terah Melford. I was a student in LEAP’s Leadership, Ethics and Civics (LEC) programme from 2010 to 2013. When I joined the LEC programme in 2010, I and my group of friends, created projects that brought about positive change in our environment. I also volunteered as a facilitator in my school to teach the new students about leadership. This brought us awards and a CNN’s recognition that earned me a scholarship to a private university. LEAP Africa changed my perceptive about life.

I am currently a student of Benson Idahosa University studying International Studies and Diplomacy. Also, I run my own non-governmental organization (NGO) called “GIFT to Africa” which functions in a girl’s only school in Benin city, Edo state where I assist the students by providing them with texts books, notebooks and leadership/ICT trainings. I have been in this school for a year.

In addition, I have a creative outlet called “House of Haziba”, which was named after my Mother. Under House of Haziba we make ankara inspired clothes, bags, sandals, throw pillows, if requested. I am also a makeover artist. The makeover aspect is stronger because now, I use my creative skills to earn money for myself and train my schoolmates on how to be independent the right way, by teaching them makeup and hair styling techniques.  Hence, I can say even if I am not fully established, I am a leadership & entrepreneur coach.

Apparently, I was one of the less privileged in the society and striving to make something out of myself. Thus, I grabbed on to the opportunity LEAP Africa was offering me; which was empowerment, confidence, positivity, creativity and a sense of belonging with the right family and I am glad I was part of the programme.

#LEAPISPARTOFMYSTORY

Have you got an interesting story to tell? Email us today – info@leapafrica.org

Categories:

Leave a Reply

