#LEAPISPARTOFMYSTORY WEEK 32: Chimezie Judemary Udechukwu

IMG_20150428_094742
Chimezie Judemary Udechukwu, President of the Security Council, International Model United Nations

Life does not give you what you want and if you want anything out of life, you must be willing to stand up and get it yourself.

I am Chimezie Judemary Udechukwu the 6th out of 7 children, they say I am albino with limited abilities but I say I am God’s creature, limitless in Christ.

Growing up was challenging for me and you would quickly notice why. I was bullied, pranked, taunted, mocked and discriminated, owing to my skin colour. I pulled through basic education but found my feet in college.

I have always seen myself as a conduit through which others get connected to their dreams and aspirations and meeting LEAP in 2008 further solidified that belief!

Chinonso Arubayi (then Ijomah) had started her Change Project tagged “BOLD, Building Opinion Leaders” with a Difference, we were in the same Faculty of Social Sciences at Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka; I read Political Science, she studied Mass Communication. She invited me to join her team and I accepted. Later she nominated me to participate in the 2008 LEAP Africa’s Youth Leadership Programme, where I would go on to become a part of the Emeralds class comprising of some of the most brilliant people on earth!

Looking back now, I am grateful to God I accepted that nomination even though I had to sacrifice lectures and classes for eight days; my classmates went berserk because I was the class representative. But since then, I have become better and more effective.

The skills I acquired through LEAP has led to an improvement of who I am. Also the knowledge it provided has enabled me create a platform to reach out to other young people to become better members of the society.

I currently work as a speaker, compere and volunteer even as I prepare to round up my Masters Degree in Peace Studies and Conflict Resolution. I am also serving as President of the Security Council, International Model United Nations, Nigeria IMUNN, Assistant District Rotaract Representative ADRR for District 9110 supervising more than 20 rotaract clubs in terms of administration and project implementation aside other Youth Advocacy within the Catholic Youth Organization of Nigeria (CYON) in the Archdiocese of Lagos.

LEAP has helped me fan into flame, the embers of Service, Leadership, Effectiveness, Accountability, Professionalism in all I do. I have and am still contributing my quota to the growth and development of our Society. In the coming months I intend to start up my own firm dedicated to providing communication, research and strategies for project planning and execution.

At LEAP Africa, you are driven to reach the gifts, potentials and abilities you never knew existed within.

#LEAPISPARTOFMYSTORY

Have you got an interesting story to share? Send an email to info@leapafrica.org today. We’ll love to hear from you. 

Categories:

Leave a Reply

