#LEAPISPARTOFMYSTORY: Victor Onyekere

DSC_6051.JPG

Victor Onyekere, CEO and Lead Brand Strategist, Diamond Lead Enterprise.

In this present phase of transformation, a new cadre of young African leaders are indeed emerging and it is important for every young man and woman to believe and to begin to unleash that latent leadership potential.

When I got to into the Lagos State University to study Health Education, I wasn’t confident about a lot of things, but I was certain of one thing; that I’ll come out the best in my field.

My name is Victor Onyekere and I am the CEO and Lead Brand Strategist of Diamond Lead Enterprise. I am passionate about people and driven by the idea that I can help others to live better lives, because I am a positive thinker and very enthusiastic about success.

In the beginning of my third year in the University, I decided to sharpen and acquire relevant inter-personal and work skills, which I would utilize to build my very own NGO – The Love Care Community.

So I started within my own sphere of influence; my department. I worked with my course mates and we became a team; we would have tutorials and pray together. I also helped lower level students in my department by organising tutorial classes for difficult courses.

In my fourth year, I stumbled on LEAP Africa while searching for reputable NGOs in Nigeria. What I saw in the “About” section blew me away; because at the time, I realised I needed a programme that would develop my leadership skills, so quickly I applied   to volunteer. Interestingly, I didn’t care about the time, energy and resources it would cost me; all I knew was that I wanted to be a better leader.

Not too long after, I was selected as a volunteer for the Youth Development Training Programme (YDTP). The YDTP began with the Training of Trainers workshop, which lasted for four days. I learned so much, I began to believe the training could fast-track me five (5) years into the future. From sessions on crafting my personal mission and vision statements, to sessions on leadership, effective communication and self-awareness, the entire experience was phenomenal.

After the YDTP experience, a lot about me changed on the inside. My perspective about certain things took a major shift and that difference redefined my approach to work and life, particular the initiative I had established. At Love Care Community, we started the Student Leadership Summit, aimed at building global student leaders for success and excellence.

I was also able to put structure in another idea I had conceived; the Platform360 Conference, an initiative set to encourage Nigerian youth to leverage the right connections they need to discover purpose and realize their dreams. I have also been directly involved in the creation of an online forum called ‘’The Principled Woman.’’

My involvement with LEAP has greatly contributed to who I am today and a number of people have acknowledged my leadership abilities and values system.

In this present phase of transformation, a new cadre of young African leaders are indeed emerging and it is important for every young man and woman to believe and to begin to unleash that latent leadership potential.

My life philosophy is crafted in this statement; Everyone is in charge of the events in their lives, the driver of their actions, the leader of their future.

LEAP Africa has absolutely helped me “leap” forward and I can boldly say that #LEAPISPARTOFMYSTORY.

Victor is a young transformational leader, with interest in Education, Business, Coaching and Mentoring. He is the third in a family of five and a passionate lover of God. He believes that growth is deliberate and strategic, so he consciously takes the right steps to achieve great results.

Have you attended our programmes and you know you have an inspiring story to share, send an email to info@leapafrica.org. We’ll love to hear from you!

Categories: Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

