#LEAPISPARTOFMYSTORY: Oluwadamilola Ayinde

YLP Alumnus Damilola

Oluwadamilola Ayinde, Head of Corporate Marketing & Customer Relations, PathCare Laboratories
Joining the LEAP Africa family enriched the quality of my network and opened up lots of opportunities. LEAP isn’t just a part of my story but my way of life. I have learned to connect, communicate and convert people into positive change agents and it only took three of it’s programmes to be re-branded.

Hello, my name is Oluwadamilola Ayinde and I am currently the Head of Corporate Marketing and Customer Relations at PathCare Laboratories, Nigeria’s first and only ISO 15189 accredited medical laboratory. I am also a Social Media Strategist, LinkedIn trainer and Public Relations professional.

Over 10 years ago, I got admitted into the Department of Microbiology, University of Lagos, as a naïve young man looking forward to making an impact on that famous campus. By the end of the semester, I was nominated as the class representative for my department and by my third year, I had joined the Students’ Representative Council, an Ad-hoc student committee, set-up to amend the University Students’ Union Constitution.

It was through the office of the dean, students’ affairs, that I got nominated to attend the LEAP Africa Youth Leadership Programme (YLP). The programme was comprehensive and equipped me with the skills I use today. I met amazing people and the facilitators were able to refine my mindset. After the programme, I became more effective in the way I communicated and began a career change from Microbiology to Marketing Communications.

This was just the beginning with LEAP Africa. In 2008, I attended the Facilitators’ Training Programme, which improved my presentation skills and taught me how to facilitate a training programme. And then came the third programme, the Microsoft Employability Programme in 2010, which was the icing on the cake. I developed skills in negotiation, networking, moral ethics, social responsibility and so much more.

I then became a self-imposed LEAP Africa Ambassador. I told my friends about the organization and recommended its programmes to quite a number of individuals. During my NYSC, I co-hosted an NYSC-based radio programme called 365 on Treasure 98.5 FM where I talked about CSR activities being carried out by NYSC members and how the activities impact their communities. After NYSC, I Joined MTN Nigeria as a Customer Care Representative then later joined the Marketing Department of Television Continental. During this period I enrolled with the Nigerian Institute of Public Relations (NIPR) and Chartered Institute of Marketing (CIM-UK). I later joined a creative agency called Etu Odi Communications as a Digital Marketer before ending up at PathCare laboratories. I recently concluded a Postgraduate Diploma in Mass Communication at the University of Lagos.

As a LinkedIn trainer and social media strategist, I have taught quite a number of people on optimizing the power of LinkedIn (for job-seeking and business purposes); that’s why some call me the LinkedIn Evangelist. I have also been privileged to speak at a few events; the most recent was the 2015 Youth Parliament of Archbishop Vining Memorial Church Cathedral (AVMCC), where I spoke about a New Media Complaint Church: A Way forward.

Joining the LEAP Africa family enriched the quality of my network and opened up lots of opportunities. LEAP isn’t just a part of my story but my way of life. I have learned to connect, communicate and convert people into positive change agents and it only took three of it’s programmes to be re-branded.

Thank you LEAP AFRICA for being more than part of my story.

Have you attended our programmes? Do you have an inspiring story to share? Send an email to info@leapafrica.org. We’ll love to hear from you!

Categories: Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

