#LEAPISPARTOFMYSTORY: Ndidiamaka Nwabeke

IMG-20160315-WA004

Nwabeke Ezichi Ndidiamaka, Education Officer, Lagos State Ministry of Education

The training has so become part of me that whenever I’m in a class to teach English Language,  I always unconsciously impart some of the YDTP topics to the students. Though I have spent just about seven months in my present school, most of them have felt my impact and are always looking forward to having me around them.

Hello everyone, I am Nwabeke Ezichi Ndidiamaka, a graduate of Education in Communication and Language Arts/English, from the prestigious University of Ibadan. I am currently an Education Officer at Lagos State Ministry of Education (Oregun Senior High School).

My passion for teaching fully developed while I was in my final year in the university; specifically while we were assigned to do mock teaching. I was commended by a lecturer for teaching so passionately.

I began my teaching career in 2006 in a private establishment and later moved on to a government establishment in 2009 – State Senior High School, GRA Ikeja. I worked in State Senior High School for over six years before I was posted to Oregun Senior High School.

I got to know a little about LEAP in 2012 from various events I went as a chaperone with students who were then in the Leadership and Ethics Curriculum (LEC) programme. However, in 2013 after participating in the  Youth Development and Training Programme (YDPT), I had an in-depth knowledge about LEAP.

Prior to my becoming part of the LEAP family, I wasn’t too confident in handling crises or dealing with the personality issues of my students. I wasn’t even sure of my mentoring skills.

The YDPT training really transformed me.  It helped me to discover my personality and awakened the qualities I never knew existed. I am more confident, outspoken and relate very easily with people. My occasional low self esteem has disappeared.

The skills I have acquired has ignited the eagerness to always want to mentor people. More so, my daily interaction with young people gives me the opportunity to impart into their lives.

I particularly remember one of my students at State Senior High School,  who found it hard to face the crowd or relate easily with her peers. After several sessions with her, she developed a very high self esteem. I encouraged her to participate in inter-school debates and other competitions. She is currently studying Law at the University of Lagos.

Today, many of them have realized their innate potentials. They now exude a great deal of confidence and display remarkable leadership qualities; they are no longer afraid to handle challenges. Some have developed the burning ambition to positively transform the society.

Many times my patience has been tried, but the determination  of recording success keeps me going. There’s a case of this particular boy in my present school, who had been a bully and a recalcitrant but I decided to give him special attention. I’m amazed at his positive transformation.

The training has so become part of me that whenever I’m in a class to teach English Language,  I always unconsciously impart some of the YDTP topics to the students. Though I have spent just about seven months in my present school, most of them have felt my impact and are always looking forward to having me around them.

My heart bursts with pride and happiness whenever some of them get awarded for outstanding performance in academics, moral behaviour and contributions in extra-mural activities both within and outside the school. I have also received a commendation letter for some of the activities the students engaged in.

I have a very strong conviction that most of our youths can positively make this nation what many us believe it can be. What they need is a little attention, love and  encouragement to believe they can actually become great.

#LEAP is indeed part of my success story.

Have you attended our programmes? Do you have an inspiring story to share? Send an email to info@leapafrica.org. We’ll love to hear from you!

Categories: Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

