#LEAPISPARTOFMYSTORY: Iyengunmwena Osaze

Iyengunmwena Osaze.jpg

Iyengunmwena Osaze, Undergraduate student at Covenant University 

After the holiday, I went back to school with a clearer mindset and I reaped the benefits of an excellent WASC result by gaining admission into Covenant University. Above all, I earned the trust, confidence and respect of my Dad.

My name is Iyengunmwena Osaze and I am a 19 year old undergraduate student at Covenant University, studying Information and Communication Engineering. I am also a part time social entrepreneur.

In July 2012, my father enrolled me for LEAP Africa’s one week summer Youth Leadership Program (YLP). At the time, I was entering my final class in secondary School and my Dad who was not too happy with my performance thought the program would help me.

I thank God for that decision because the program changed my perspective about life. Of all we were taught in the one week program, goal setting was what changed it all for me. Young as I was then, I completed the program with a new mindset, accepting that I had a role to play in becoming a better person and that I could positively impact society.

I returned home and set new goals for the holiday period. I drew up schedules of how I would spend my time and prepare for the new class. I learned to understand that there’s a time for everything, so no matter how interesting a film or a conversation was, I moved when the time for the next task was due. Everyone at home was shocked at how much I had changed and impressed that the programme had made such a significant impact.

After the holiday, I went back to school with a clearer mindset and I reaped the benefits of an excellent WASC result by gaining admission into Covenant University. Above all, I earned the trust, confidence and respect of my Dad.

Given my awakened inner self, I also attended the Global Scholars Program, organized by the Africa Leadership Academy in Johannesburg. And combined with the knowledge I received from LEAP’s YLP, the programme awakened my current passion for social entrepreneurship.

I am currently preparing for my final 300-level examination in the university and my current CGPA attests to the fact that I am doing well academically. I have had other opportunities to build on my experience at the YLP, as I continue to apply the fundamental lessons that made a difference in me. My greatest joy, however, is that I am impacting my environment just like we were taught we could during the program.

I have become more independent and confident, developing ideas and embarking on projects that make life easier for the people that surround me. For instance, I have been part of some fund raising activities in school by supporting the initiatives of like-minded students on campus. In collaboration with a friend, we are currently working on an internet based project that will help students to access study materials.

LEAP Africa has truly been part of my story and when people ask me how I got to where I am today, I acknowledge that my story is incomplete without the organisation.

Have you attended our programmes? Do you have an inspiring story to share? Send an email to info@leapafrica.org. We’ll love to hear from you!

Categories: Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

