#LEAPISPARTOFMYSTORY: Maple Dappa

dfc5f6ca-0a74-41b4-95cd-4f5ab9c34a59
#LEAPAlumni: Maple Dappa, CEO of Fayples Transnational Ltd and also the Principal Consultant of Mapemond Resources.

My engagement with LEAP will remain one of the most significant experiences in my life time. There’s barely any meaningful advancement I have made so far in life that isn’t connected to the learning experience. I still remember the session on “connecting our outer selves to our inner selves”, which was the paradigm shift moment for me. It called me into introspection, to re-examine my life and I was spurred to take responsibility for myself and re-define my life. I had learned to live up to the Christian values, ethics and morals which I had always professed but never really submitted to.

I am a graduate of marine engineering from the Rivers State University of Science and Technology. I was born and bred in the city of Port Harcourt, Nigeria.

Growing up wasn’t exactly rosy but I learnt early to be contented and to live life one day at a time. I ventured into entrepreneurship immediately after my NYSC in 2008 and spent the first few years learning the ropes in an attempt to establish a brand consulting firm called Mapemond Resources.

In 2014 I launched my second business, Fayples Nigeria, a brand that retails clothes online for both foreign and locally made wears via a webstore http://www.fayples.com. Presently, we are perfecting processes in making our own shirts and t-shirts for women, men and children.

While waiting to be posted for NYSC in 2007, I found interest in social work, especially in the area of youth development. I was perturbed that youths in Port Harcourt lacked mentorship and the empowerment they needed to maximize their potentials. I really wanted to do something about it, but didn’t know what exactly. I wasn’t even equipped for such a task myself. Nonetheless, I spoke to as many that were willing to listen to my concerns. One of the persons I spoke to was my friend from the University, Apryl Abassah. She had enrolled for LEAP Africa’s Youth Leadership Programme (YLP) even though she couldn’t complete it. However, the first phase of the programme she participated in was enough experience for her to strongly recommend YLP to me.  I followed up with the lead, enrolled for the programme and was part of the 2007 YLP Eagles Class in Port Harcourt. Today, I’d say the YLP is one of the best things that ever happened to me. Shout out to Apryl!

My engagement with LEAP will remain one of the most significant experiences in my life time. There’s barely any meaningful advancement I have made so far in life that isn’t connected to the learning experience. I still remember the session on “Connecting To Your Inner Self” which was the paradigm shift moment for me. It called me into introspection, to re-examine my life and I was spurred to take responsibility for myself and re-define my life. I had learned to live up to the Christian values, ethics and morals which I had always professed but never really submitted to.

Many times people ask how I carry out administration and business management efficiently without any background in management sciences, YLP is still the only answer I give to them. The programme primed me thoroughly, in deciding whether or not to toe a professional career path, do social work, or venture into business like I did.

Three years after going through the programme, I published my book ‘Seeds of Greatness’, aimed at inspiring and equipping young people to maximize their potentials, take responsibility for their lives and make significant contributions to the advancement of their immediate communities and the larger society.

I personally think that the YLP should be a substitute for National Youth Service Corp (NYSC). I believe that every Nigerian graduate across all states should go through YLP and Nigeria will be much better for it ten years down the line.

I often say to everyone that cares to listen; even my children will hear me say that #LEAPISAPARTOFMYSTORY.

Premium shout out to LEAP AFRICA!

#LEAPISPARTOFMYSTORY

Have you attended our programmes? Do you have an inspiring story to share? Send an email to info@leapafrica.org. We’ll love to hear from you!

 

Categories: Tags: , , , ,

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

