#LEAPISPARTOFMYSTORY: Olubunmi Samuel-Adeyemi

img-20160628-wa000
#LEAPAlumni: Olubunmi Samuel-Adeyemi, Founder, LIMER Personal Finance
I could never tell the story of my life without mentioning LEAP Africa. At LEAP, I came to see that excellence is a personal journey. I learnt that it is possible to deal professionally and ethically with people, despite the corruption that exists in the workplace and the society.

My name is Olubunmi Samuel-Adeyemi. I studied Mathematical Science (Computer Science) at University of Agriculture, Abeokuta; and later went to Covenant University to study Banking and Finance at PGD Level. Today, I run a social enterprise called LIMER Personal Finance (www.limerglobal.com) which provides Financial Literacy education and consulting to several individuals and groups of people across the globe.

My journey with LEAP Africa started in 2010, when I went to work as the pioneer full-time staff of the Research department. Prior to that time, LEAP’s research activities where carried out by International volunteers and interns. In that role, I was responsible for revamping the curriculum for the Youth and Business Leadership Programmes, as well as coordinating publishing activities around LEAP’s publications (Rage for Change and Passing The Baton). Finally, I managed the Alumni for the Business Leadership Programme for 5 months before I resigned to pursue a career in Finance.

I could never tell the story of my life without mentioning LEAP Africa. At LEAP, I came to see that excellence is a personal journey. I learnt that it is possible to deal professionally and ethically with people, despite the corruption that exists in the workplace and the society. LEAP Africa helped me to make adjustments to the way I lived my life while I worked there and even beyond. Many of the values I now hold dear and live my life by were decided upon from a position of faith fueled by my encounters at LEAP Africa. I learnt the value of hardwork, a belief in possibilities, the courage to stand for the truth, even if you stand alone, the power of systems and structures in multiplying efforts and the fulfillment that genuine selfless service brings. I only worked at LEAP Africa for about 22 months, but the values that were ingrained in me during that time will live with me (and everyone I interact with directly or virtually) forever.


#LEAPISPARTOFMYSTORY

Have you attended our programmes, volunteered or worked at LEAP Africa? Do you have an inspiring story to share? Send an email to info@leapafrica.org. We’ll love to hear from you.

Categories: Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

