#LEAPISPARTOFMYSTORY: Chinelo Grace Okeke

dsc_0009-1
LEAPAlumni: Chinelo Grace Okeke, Radio Personality and Founder Gracias Couture House of Fashion
Passion was not excluded as LEAP also awakened that in me. No matter how much I try to make excuses or procrastinate addressing a problem that has my attention, I can’t let it off my mind till I make a move. I’m always seeking to find solutions to problems around me by working with people, no matter their temperament or how difficult they may seem to be at the time because LEAP taught me how to work effectively with others.

My name is Chinelo Grace Okeke, a graduate of Applied Microbiology & Brewing from Nnamdi Azikiwe University. I am a passionate on-air-personality, change agent & Founder of Noble Scholars & Leaders; an organisation aimed at raising leaders that transform society and value education. I am also a fashion entrepreneur; Founder of Gracias Couture House of Fashion and a passionate advocate focused on empowering farmers to create wealth and resolve food crisis.

Growing up, I was moralist. But I had a longing to make problems right around me; to have zero tolerance for corrupt leaders in any organisation. In my pursuit to fill this emptiness, I came across a friend who introduced me to LEAP Africa in 2010. He organised a programme at my University. Afterwards, I volunteered for the Leadership, Ethics and Civics (LEC) Programme; attended LEAP’s Values and Leadership Skills (VLSP) training and other programmes and awards organised by LEAP. It was a major turning point for me.

In almost everything I did with people, I was often asked the question” How is it that you are full of so much passion, values and very straightforward? Every time, my response remained the same — “If you were trained by LEAP you would understand and see reasons behind why I act the way I do”.

A lot of times, I encounter people who want me to compromise on my values. Sometimes, they’d complain saying, “Chinelo you are so rigid. You don’t budge”. But this has helped me earn respect from my colleagues, friends and people I meet on a daily basis.

LEAP instilled values, integrity and the team spirit in me. LEAP taught me time management. I remembered attending a VLSP training scheduled for 7:00am and a minute lateness was not tolerated even on the basis of traffic. Time Management is one core value LEAP stands for.

Passion was not excluded as LEAP also awakened that in me. No matter how much I try to make excuses or procrastinate addressing a problem that has my attention, I can’t let it off my mind till I make a move. I’m always seeking to find solutions to problems around me by working people, no matter their temperament or how difficult they may seem to be at the time because LEAP taught me how to work effectively with people.

My involvement with LEAP began my journey to living a life of fulfilment; one that is committed to investing in others. I truly believe without LEAP, my Life story would have been vague.

— 

#LEAPISPAROFMYSTORY

Have you attended our programmes, volunteered or worked at LEAP Africa? Do you have an inspiring story to share? Send an email to info@leapafrica.org or connect with LEAP Africa on twitter/Instagram @LEAPAfrica. We’ll love to hear from you!

Categories: Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments

  1. I never knew of LEAP Africa until November 2015 when I took part in her school2work seminar which was an eye-opener for me. My contact with LEAP has helped me realise a daily need to improve on myself career-wise as well as develop certain career and business skills. I am one of LEAP Africa’s achievement and I’m proud to be.

    Like

Leave a Reply

