#LEAPISPARTOFMYSTORY – Femi Royal Aliu

unnamed (1)

Growing up taught me hard lessons. My dreams and aspirations stared me in the face with no hope of fulfillment but I like the saying goes “when life gives you lemons, make lemonade”. 

I grew up from a very humble background in a local suburb in Ogun State. In secondary school, I had to sell puff-puff, a local snack in Nigeria, and do other menial jobs. Irrespective of my background, every experience I had, groomed me for what I am today.

In 2014, I participated in LEAP Africa’s Citi Employability Programme as a student. I traveled from the Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta to Lagos to learn from LEAP.  During the programme, I heard about the “Johari Window” for the very first time while engaging in various ethical case studies. I took away deep lessons on values and each lesson had a profound impression on me right before I started NYSC (National Youth Service Corp) and entered the labour market.

I have since moved up the ladder, grown through the ranks and embraced ethical leadership combined with integrity and character. I hold this dearly as I want to be an example for others ahead of me to learn from. Thank you LEAP for the opportunity to grow significantly.

ABOUT: Femi is a Social Entrepreneur. He train teens on 21st century skills with deliberate emphasis on leadership and entrepreneurship education through an incubator and flagship project “Teens Enterprise Development Fellowship”, which enables teenagers to leverage digital skills to make money. His involvement in development  work has had a far reaching impact on him and his beneficiaries.

#LEAPISPARTOFMYSTORY

Have you attended our programmes, volunteered or worked at LEAP Africa? Do you have an inspiring story to share? Send an email to info@leapafrica.org or connect with LEAP Africa on twitter/instagram @LEAPAfrica. We’ll love to hear from you!

 

 

Categories: Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

